Hancock County Housing Authority

We offer subsidized housing for the elderly, disabled, non-elderly singles and low-income families througout Hancock County, Illinois. We help those in need find "a place to call home in Hancock County!"

Our Section 8 program is project based-only, we offer no Section 8 vouchers.

The Hancock County Housing Authority currently has eight separate sites in Dallas City, Laharpe, Hamilton, Nauvoo, Bowen, Plymouth and Augusta, Illinois.

Our homes include one, two and three bedroom apartments. Some are in ground floor buildings, while others are two-floors. A range of amenities are offered, depending on the location. Please check our rentals page to see the specifics for each location.

We strive to make the process of renting from the Hancock County Housing Authority as simple as possible. To that end, you can find the details on the rental process here.

You can also download documents, print them and fill them out at your convenience. This will speed the process when you come to our offices and save you the hassle of returning later with information you weren't aware was required.

If you have any questions, our caring and knowledgable staff will gladly provide you with the answers you need. You can reach us at 217-852-3482 or toll-free at 888-829-2348.

Thank you for your interest in finding "a place to call home in Hancock County!"

Frequently Asked Questions

  • Are Laundry Facilities Provided?
    Yes, all of our properties have on-site laundry facilities.

  • Do the apartments have air conditioning?
    Yes, some are equiped with central air while most have window a/c units.

  • Are their income requirements?
    Yes, there are income requirements. Please see our rental process page for more information.